Mozilla

Looking Back @2018: Mozilla and Me

Annotation 2019-03-09 005400

2018 was a very important year for Mozilla QA Bangladesh community and me. This was a year of achievements, growth and challenges for the community and for me as well. Here I will focus on my achievements with the community and my current roles, contributions as well as my goals for 2019.

Achievements:

  • Event organizing:

I have organized a few events in 2018. Among them are a few test day events, both online and offline and most importantly the biggest event of the year Firefox Test Sprint, Dhaka 2018.

IMG_0003 (Large)
Me and Rahimul Islam Rifat were preparing for bug demonstration @ Firefox Test Sprint, Dhaka 2018

It was a two day events which focuses on introducing testing and bugzilla and bug verification to new contributors. It is also the events, where existing contributors are recognized for their contribution.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also organized test day events like Firefox 65 Beta Test Day, Dhaka at Eastern University.

  • Personal achievements:

    • Selected as group moderator: Being a group moderator is more like a formal recognition for the leadership role that a contributor play in the community. Thanks to the help and support of the community, I tried to contribute from a leadership role by organizing and planning events, planning community activities, helping new contributors as mentor as well as planning future events.
Group Moderators
Our current Group Moderators
    • Bug verification and Test days: I continued my contribution of verifying bugs and participating in test days. You can take a look at my BMO profile for the details of my contribution.

Roles played in the community:

  • Group moderator
  • Mentor
  • Community call organizer
  • Monitoring Test Day events
  • Contact person for local events

Participation in events other than QA:

I am part of the Mozilla QA Bangladesh community and I play leadership role in this community but that does not limit me as a QA contributor only. I also am a part of the Mozilla global community as well as Mozilla Bangladesh. I participated in the celebration event for 20 years of Mozilla.

30814022_1811801068863437_4431523492117369044_o
20 Years of Mozilla celebrated by Mozilla Bangladesh community

I also took part in Bn-BD SuMo Day organized by Mozilla Bangladesh.

44576924_10155939280568511_2692620482259189760_o
Me and Majedul Islam Rifat at Bn-BD Sumo Day

 

Expectation and Goals for 2019:

2018 was a very eventful year for both me and Mozilla QA Bangladesh. In 2019 I hope to organize more events for new contributors and some for our existing ones. I would like to specially focus on Bug Triaging and automation testing. I also would like take on more responsibilities to better support the community from a leadership role in 2019.

Leave a comment